TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll 18 Video Of The Year

In many ways, Video of the Year is the most inclusive award in all of Riders’ Poll. While most of the awards are centered on an individual, VOTY is about a group of people, as it takes a small army to create a full-length piece of snowboard cinema—the cast of riders, the filmers, the editors, the sponsors, the producers, the directors, and the dudes pulling the bungee. Often there is overlap between these roles, but no matter what it is the effort of a team that lands a video on this list. Below are the nominees for the Riders’ Poll 18 Video of the Year award.

Reckless Abandon, Bode Merrill & Jon Ray

Not coincidentally sharing a name with a Blink-182 song, Reckless Abandon, as a title, represents well Bode Merrill’s approach to snowboarding. This half-hour masterpiece from the mind of Merrill and Portland-based filmmaker Jon Ray took the snowboard world by storm, demonstrating just how much of an all-terrain powerhouse Bode is. The supporting cast is comprised of Erik Leon, Ozzy Henning, Hans Mindnich, and Jesse Paul, whose part landed him a Rookie of the Year nomination.



Featuring perhaps the highest production value of any team movie in snowboarding to date, STRONGER.‘s roster is composed of Union Binding Company’s pro team—Kazu Kokubo, Gigi Rüf, Scott Stevens, Dustin Craven, Johnny O'Connor, Phil Jacques, Travis Rice, Dan Brisse, Anto Chamberland, Bryan Iguchi, Arthur Longo, and Torstein Horgmo. The film gave way to two Video Part of the Year nominees: Kazu Kokubo and Scott Stevens and features a mental ender from Torstein that landed him on the cover of TransWorld SNOWboarding‘s October 2016 issue.

The Fourth Phase, Travis Rice, Red Bull Media House

Five years in the making, The Fourth Phase is the fourth is a series of films starring one of the best to ever do it—Travis Rice. Focusing more on a narrative than his previous movies, Travis Rice chose to research the cycle of water as it travels around the globe, providing a framework within which to showcase top-caliber riding from Mark Landvik, Eric Jackson, Bryan Iguchi, Pat Moore, Mikkel Bang, Jeremy Jones, Victor De Le Rue, Ben Ferguson, Cam Fitzpatrick, and Bode Merrill.

Check out more about Riders’ Poll Here.

We'll be announcing the winner at this year's Riders’ Poll event in Breckenridge, CO on December 9th. Be there!

RSVP for Free Tickets here!

About Riders’ Poll:
For 18 years, TransWorld SNOWboarding has polled the professional snowboarding community to find their picks for the best riders of the year. Each season, these awards are decided by the opinions of over 100 pros. While TransWorld SNOWboarding hosts the awards, the winners are truly a reflection of peer acknowledgement—the highest honor any rider can receive. All TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll winners will be announced and awarded in Breckenridge, CO on Friday December 9, 2016 during the Winter Dew Tour weekend.