Wynen and Buaas Take Triple Crown Superpipe at Breck

Breckenridge, CO (December 15, 2002) – The Mountain Dew Pro Nationalsconcluded Sunday with Luke Wynen (Reading, PA) and Kjersti BuaasOestgaard (Trondheim, Norway) taking first amidst windy conditions inthe men’s and women’s Super Pipe competitions at Breckenridge SkiResort.

In the men’s Super Pipe competition, Wynen’s McTwist to front-sidetail-grab to Indy Air to combination frontside quarked seven, finishingwith a switch 540, secured his top spot on the podium. Steve Fisher(St. Louis Park, MN) and Rob Kingwell (Jackson Hole, WY) finished aclose second and third, respectively, behind Wynen.

In the ladies Super Pipe, the international women proved that they’regearing up and ready to be amongst the top competitors this season withKjersti Buaas Oestgaard (Trondheim, Norway) and Salt Lake Olympic SilverMedallist Dorian Vidal (Perpignan, France), taking first and second. Inthird place, Anne Molin Kongssgaard (Mammoth, Ca), was within 5 tenthsof a point of taking second place from Vidal.

The Mountain Dew Pro Nationals was chock full of action on Saturdaywith the Slope Style finals, the Super Pipe prelims and the Mountain DewRail Jam all running under blue skies at Breckenridge Ski Resort. Thestrong international performances started early as Canadian EtienneGilbert (St. Redempteur, Quebec) and Jennifer Jones of Bristol, Englandclaimed first in the men’s and women’s Slope Style competitions, whileAaron Keene (Reno, NV) took first in the Mountain Dew Rail Jam pulling afrontside 180, to switch 50/50, to switch backside 540 on the rollercoaster rail.

Super Pipe Finals – Sunday, December 15
Men Score Purse Women Score Purse
1. Luke Wynen 88.3 $12,000 1. Kjersti Buaas
Oestgaard 91.3 $8,000
2. Steve Fisher 88.0 $8,000 2. DorianVidal 80.8 $5,000
3. Rob Kingwell 87.8 $5,000 3. Anne MolinKongsgaard 80.3 $2,250

Slope Style Finals – Saturday, December 14
Men Score Purse Women Score Purse
1. Etienne Gilbert 79.8 $12,000 1. JenniferJones 82.2 $8,000
2. Josh Dirksen 79.0 $8,000 2. JaimeMacleod 76.3 $5,000
3. George Oakley 78.7 $5,000 3. AnneKongsgaard 68.8 $2,250

Mountain Dew Rail Jam (Saturday)
Men Purse Women Purse
1. Aaron Keene $2,000 1. Leanne Pelosi $500
2. Travis Robison $1,500 2. Marissa Funicello $500
3. Jeff Meyer $1,000

For those who didn’t see the action in person, the Mountain Dew ProNationals, the first stop of the Vans Triple Crown of Snowboarding, airson NBC Sports on January 26 at 5:00 pm EST.

The Vans Triple Crown of Snowboarding, with a total purse of $375,000and Ford Ranger FX4 at stake, continues with the Built Ford ToughChampionships at Mammoth Mountain Resort, Mammoth Lakes, CA, January23-26 and the Vans North American Championships, March 6-9 at BearMountain Resort, Big Bear Lake, CA.

The Mountain Dew National Championships of Snowboarding presented byFord Trucks and Vans are made possible through a partnership of FordTrucks, Mountain Dew, the XboxT video game system from Microsoft, RightGuard Xtreme, Transworld SNOWboarding, Fox Sports Net and NBC Sports.The Vans Triple CrownT Series features the world’s top athletesparticipating in premier venues throughout North America for the topprize purse in each of six Core SportsT disciplines: Skateboarding,Wakeboarding, BMX, Freestyle Motocross, Surfing and Snowboarding.