Shaun White Wins ESPN ESPY Award

WHO: Professional snowboard athlete Shaun White of San Diego, Calif.

WHAT: Wins the Best Action Sports Athlete Award at the 11th Annual ESPY Awards

WHERE: Kodak Theatre, Hollywood

WHEN: Last evening, July 16, 2003, live on ESPN 6 pm PT

Show Reairs: July 17 at 8 p.m. PT & July 18 at 12 a.m. PT on ESPN and August 7 at 10 p.m. PT on ABC

DETAILS: The 2003 ESPY Awards brought together athletes and entertainment celebrities to recognize top achievements in sports, relive the memorable moments and salute the best performers and performances.

The event included 33 different categories featuring both sport-specific and cross-cutter awards (categories that pit athletes from different sports against each other). Winners in the 17 sport-specific categories were determined for the first time through on-line fan voting. The ESPY Academy – comprised of Hall of Fame athletes and coaches as well as legendary journalists – voted for the cross cutter winners, one of which was the Action Sports Athlete category. Nominees in this category included:

Aleisha Cline, Skiing, Squamish, B.C., Canada

Andy Irons, Surfing, Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii

Blair Morgan, Snowmobile SnoCross, Saskatchewan, Canada

Shaun White, Snowboarding, San Diego, Calif. – WINNER

White, 16, earned his first ESPY Award by winning the Men’s Snowboard SuperPipe competition at X Games Global Championship I in May, helping the United States secure the top spot in the first ever team-oriented action sports event. He was also named the Outstanding Athlete of Winter X Games VII, a status he earned after winning the gold medal in both Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle and SuperPipe.

While unrelated to The ESPY Awards voting, White recently made X Games history in May when he became the first X Games athlete ever to qualify for both winter and summer X Games events in two different sports, when he qualified for the Skateboard Vert competition at Slam City Jam in Vancouver.

Actor Jamie Foxx hosted the 2003 ESPY Awards. Celebrity presenters at last night’s event included: Ben Stiller, Kiefer Sutherland, Jessica Alba, Michael Chiklis, Taye Diggs, Donnie Wahlberg, Lara Flynn Boyle, Elisha Cuthbert, Vivica A. Fox, Dennis Haysbert, Lisa Guererro, Roselyn Sanchez and more.

Visit for complete coverage of the ESPY Awards.