The action sports athlete nominees have been selected for the inaugural ESPN Action Sports and Music Awards Fueled by Mountain Dew to be held Saturday, April 7 at the Universal Amphitheatre in Los Angeles, Calif.

The event will air April 10 at 9 p.m. EST on ESPN. ESPN will unite athletes, sport legends, musicians and Hollywood celebrities to present the most explosive evening in the history of action sports.

Throughout the evening, awards will be presented to those who have shaped and continue to change the sports of the new millennium; and, in a unique twist, awards will also be presented to the bands that have supported these athletes.

Awards will be presented in 17 categories, highlighted by the athlete of the year in nine categories from six action sports – bmx, skateboarding, motocross, surfing, skiing and snowboarding. The Action Sports Feat of the Year will also be honored.

The ESPN Action Sports and Music Awards will also acknowledge six musical artists awards for each of the sports categories. Nominees for the musical artist awards as well as for two additional awards – the Action Sports Achievement Award and the Music Contribution to Action Sports will be forthcoming.

The winners will be chosen by a voting body comprised of professional athletes in each sport and the nominees were selected using individual committees from each sport. The committees were made up of team managers, members of the media, marketing directors and former professional athletes. In addition, other action sport members of the industry assisted in the direction of the show, both conceptually and musically.

The list of snowboarding nominees for the 2001 ESPN Action Sports and Music Awards follows:

Bjorn Leines
Todd Richards
Kevin Jones
Terje Haakonsen
Peter Line

Tara Dakides
Anne Molin Kongsgaard
Janna Meyen
Barrett Christy
Shannon Dunn