Kyle Lopiccolo, took home a fresh sponsorship package with his win of this year’s Active Sponsor Me Rail Jam at Mountain High—and a big wet kiss from the Boost Mobile girl. Yum. Lopiccolo, just edging out Spencer Link and Eli Weiner, received one-year invites from Rome Snowboards, Planet Earth Clothing, Von Zipper Eyewear, Grenade Gloves, Vestal Watches, Elm Company and more. In the women’s division, Carrie Galloway showed them how it’s done in Kansas City, Missouri, taking first over Nirvana Ortanez and Kaitlyn Elswick. And in the Groms division, Nick Sibayan let the pack with his big airs and casual style, beating out JD FLoen and Nathaniel Kennedy who took 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The Sponsor Me contest has become the perfect venue for up and coming riders to showcase their talent. Team managers from the supporting companies serve as judges so even if riders didn’t wind up on the podium, they still had opportunity to impress. And impress they did. Competitors killed it from dusk till dawn in the Playground, Mountain High’s base-area jib park, on features such as the Double Trouble Wall Ride, the Fuel Rail and a funbox to butterpad to 40ft downhill rail combo feature. MH even pushed a hip jump onto the side of the jib park which helped separate the men from the boys. GT from Von Zipper didn’t hold back either as he laid down a blanket of commentary which included everything from rider’s tricks and shout-outs to movie quotes and self-exploitation.

Now in its 5th season, this year’s Sponsor Me event was the largest ever drawing competitors from five different states. Said John McColly, Mountain High’s Director of Marketing, “We are proud to host this event. Active does a great job producing it every year it gets bigger and better. Everything is about the rider and I don’t think there was a kid out there who didn’t leave with something to remember it by.

Active’s 5th Annual Sponsor Me Rail Jam, Final Results
Mountain High, California—Saturday, March 18th 2006

Open Division

1. Kyle Lopiccolo
2. Spencer Link
3. Eli Weiner

4. Anthony Fire
5. Andrew Massey

Groms Division

1. Nick Sibayan
2. JD FLoen
3. Nathaniel Kennedy

4. Evan Pine
5. Wyatt Reimers

Womens Division

1. Carrie Galloway
2. Nirvana Ortanez
3. Kaitlyn Elswick

4. Kyle Britt
5. Whitney Harrington