Winter Dew Tour At Mount Snow


2009-10 Dew Cup Champions Honored at the Dew Cup Awards Ceremony Saturday, February 6th at the Snow Barn in Mount Snow at 9:30pm

Burr Ridge, Ill. – February 2, 2010 – The Winter Dew Tour, the world's premier season-long winter action sports tour, concludes its sophomore season with the last of three stops, the Toyota Championship, beginning Thursday, Feb. 4 at Mount Snow Resort. The Winter Dew Tour returns to Mount Snow to host four days of slopestyle and superpipe competitions with the world's best snowboard and freeski athletes vying for the event title as well as a piece of the year-long championship.

The Toyota Championship marks the conclusion of the 2009-2010 season, where this year's Dew Cup champions will be crowned at Saturday's awards ceremony in their respective disciplines – men's and women's snowboard slopestyle and superpipe and freeski slopestyle and superpipe.

Proving age is just a number are men's snowboard slopestyle leaders Tyler Flanagan and Sage Kotsenburg, a pair of 16 year olds holding the first and second-place positions going into the finals. In order to steal the Cup from his friend, second-place Kostenburg will need Flanagan to finish third or lower at Mount Snow to claim the year-end title.

Defending 2008-09 Dew Cup champion Spencer O'Brien will be fighting to defend her title in Mount Snow as she sits in a 175-point deadlock with Jamie Anderson for the lead, with Jenny Jones, Winter X Games gold medalist, 170 points not far behind. With a race this close and so much on the line, it could be anyone's game. If Spencer can pull out a win, she will be the first person to win two consecutive Dew Cups on the Winter Dew Tour.

In men's snowboard superpipe, last season's runner-up Steve Fisher sits in position to take it all this year. Not far behind is 2002 Olympic bronze medalist JJ Thomas, who will need a first-place finish, coupled with Fisher taking third, to steal the Cup.

Coming into the women's snowboard superpipe finals, the fight will be on for the title of Dew Cup champion. 2010 Olympian Kjersti Ostgaard Buaas will come up against third place contender Kaitlyn Farrington and fellow youngster Kelly Marren in the quest for the Cup. With only fifteen points between the three, each run will be critical.

Freeski slopestyle will be a showdown for the podium in Mount Snow, with a tie for both first and third places making it anyone's game. Pittsburgh, Pa.-native Tom Wallisch will battle it out with potential Rookie of the Year Andreas Hatveit for the top spot, as both enter the Toyota Championship with 190 points. Sammy Carlson and Bobby Brown, two-time gold medalist at last weekend's Winter X Games, are not far behind in third place, tied with 155 points. This race for the Dew Cup is the tightest by far, with so many big names needing every point they can get.

Sitting in first place in freeski pipe is Jossi Wells, whose 190 points give him a nice cushion over Simon Dumont’s 155 points. Wells needs to place in the top six to take home his first Dew Cup. Second place is up for grabs between Dumont and Xavier Bertoni, currently sitting in third with 150 points.

In addition to the competitions, the Toyota Championship will feature a daily Festival Village with interactive booths, athlete autograph signings and free product giveaways.

The Snow Barn will play host to a Friday evening concert – headlined by folk rock band Alberta Cross and opening act The Constellations – as well as the Dew Cup awards ceremony on Saturday to close out the second year of the Winter Dew Tour. The Dew Cup awards ceremony will honor the top athletes in each of the Tour's six disciplines (men's and women's snowboard slopestyle and superpipe; freeski slopestyle and superpipe), immediately followed by a performance by 40oz. to Freedom.

Tickets for the Friday night Alberta Cross concert (9pm) and Saturday awards ceremony (9:30pm) are just $15 with a $5 donation per ticket going towards the renovation of the Dover School playground. Tickets are on sale at

Sunday will host the Gatorade Free Flow Tour Finals, the official amateur series of the Winter Dew Tour, as well as the Toyota Tricktopsy Big Air Presented by Real Player specialty competition. The stars of freeski, including Sammy Carlson, Bobby Brown and TJ Schiller, will be throwing down their biggest tricks for the fans and the $5,000 in prize purse up for grabs including.

The athlete roster for Mount Snow is as follows, and includes the top contenders for the Dew Cup:
The complete schedule of events for the Toyota Championship is as follows:

Thursday, February 4th   – Gates Open at 8:00AM
9:30am – 11:30am Freeski Slopestyle Prelim
12:45pm – 1:45pm Women Snowboard Slopestyle Prelim
2:00pm – 4:00pm Men Snowboard Slopestyle Prelim
4:00pm – 5:30pm Freeski Superpipe Prelim

Friday, February 5th   – Gates Open at 8:00AM
10:30am – 12:00pm Freeski Slopestyle Final
1:30pm – 2:10pm Women Snowboard Slopestyle Final
2:30pm – 3:30pm Men Snowboard Slopestyle Final
6:00pm – 6:40pm Women Snowboard Superpipe Prelim
7:00pm – 8:30pm Men Snowboard Superpipe Prelim
9:00pm – 11:00pm Alberta Cross w/ The Constellations Concert at the Snow Barn

Saturday, February 6th   – Gates Open at 8:00AM
1:00PM – 2:15PM Freeski Superpipe Final
6:30PM – 7:10PM Women Snowboard Superpipe Final
7:30PM – 8:30PM Men Snowboard Superpipe Final
9:30PM – 10:30PM Winter Dew Tour Dew Cup Awards Show

Sunday, February 7th   – Gates Open at 8:00AM
10:00AM – 11:00AM GFFT Freeski Superpipe Final*
11:00AM – 12:00PM GFFT Women Snowboard Slopestyle Final*
12:30PM – 1:30PM GFFT Freeski Slopestyle Final*
2:00PM – 3:00PM GFFT Men Snowboard Slopestyle Final*
3:30PM – 4:00PM Toyota Tricktopsy Big Air Presented by Real Player
4:00PM – 5:00PM GFFT Women Snowboard Superpipe Final*
5:00PM – 6:00PM GFFT Men Snowboard Superpipe Final*

*(GFFT) Gatorade Free Flow Tour is the official Amateur Series of the Winter Dew Tour

Action Zone tickets for the Winter Dew Tour's Toyota Championship are available for $100 for the weekend and are on sale exclusively through The three-day Action Zone tickets are for adults and children and provide access to priority reserved viewing areas for all finals contests throughout the event, in addition to official Winter Dew Tour swag, a behind-the-scenes tour, athlete autograph session, merchandise discount coupon and cold Mountain Dew or hot chocolate.

TV Schedule
NBC                 Saturday, Feb. 6            Noon-3:00pm EST                      SKI Pipe Finals

USA Network     Saturday, Feb. 6            Midnight-1:00am EST                 SNB Slope Finals
USA Network     Sunday, Feb. 7              2:00-3:00am EST                       SNB Pipe Finals
USA Network     Monday, Feb. 8             7:00-8:00am EST                       SNB Slope re-air

MTV2                Saturday, Feb. 13          Noon-1:00pm EST                      SNB Slope Finals
MTV2                Saturday, Feb. 20          Noon-1:00pm EST                      SKI Pipe Finals

The complete 2009-10 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event                           Date                             Location
Totino's Open                Dec. 17-20                    Breckenridge Ski Resort – Breckenridge, Colo.
Wendy's Invitational       Jan. 14-17                     Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah
Toyota Championship  Feb. 4-7                        Mount Snow Resort – West Dover, Vt.

In its second season, the top athletes in the world will take part in this year's Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded in Mount Snow, Vt. at season's end. The 2008-09 Dew Cup champions include Shaun White (Snowboard Superpipe and Slopestyle), Kelly Clark (Snowboard Superpipe), Spencer O'Brien (Snowboard Slopestyle), PK Hunder (Freeski Slopestyle) and Tanner Hall (Freeski Superpipe).