Vans Triple Hits Breckenridge Dec. 7-10

SANTA FE SPRINGS, Calif. — The Vans Triple Crown ofSnowboarding returns in 2000 when the world’s best snowboarders descend uponBreckenridge, CO to compete in the 2000 Mountain Dew Pro Nationals on December7-10.

The event will pit athletes against one another in Half Pipe, Snowboard Cross and Big Air competitions with a purse totaling $125,000 as well as an opportunity to earn Vans Triple Crown points towards the overall Vans TripleCrown of Snowboarding Title.

With athletes competing in three different disciplines, the 2000 Mountain Dew Pro Nationals is guaranteed to be an exciting kick-off to the Vans Triple Crown of Snowboarding season. The ISF World Series sanctioned Half Pipe competition will feature 100 men and 40 women competing for $50,000 in prizemoney.

Also taking Breckenridge by storm will be the Snowboard Cross Competition, another ISF World Series Sanctioned event involving 120 men and 60 women battling for $45,000 in prize money.

In addition, the 2000 Mountain Dew Pro Nationals will include the ever-popular Big Air competition where the 60 Big Air riders will be trying to outdo one another in hopes of getting a piece of the $30,000 purse.

The Vans Triple Crown of Snowboarding is one of the seven Vans Triple Crown Series in as many sports. Points are tabulated from the top three Snowboarding events of the season, including the competitions at Breckenridge,CO, Snow Summit, CA and Sierra at Tahoe, CA and the winner is crowned at the final event. Participants earn points from their highest scoring discipline at each of the three events. The 1999 Vans Triple Crown of Snowboarding Champions Ross Powers and Ine Poetzl will be gearing up to defend their titles against a stacked field of competitors in the 2000 season.

The 2000 Mountain Dew Pro Nationals will receive three hours of television programming on ESPN and espn2 and will air at the following times:

espn2 1/14/01 1:00 a.m. – 2:00 a.m. (EST)
ESPN 1/16/01 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. (EST)
espn2 1/20/01 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. (EST)