Underdogs Storm Slopestyle Semis At Canadian Open

Another gorgeous day greeted riders and spectators today at Canada Olympic Park for the men’s and women’s slopestyle semifinal competition. Bluebird skies illuminated the 600m long slopestyle course which was made up of a step-up saddle to down box, followed by a down-flat-down kink rail, a log jib, down rail, wall ride and three kickers, two of which were split down the middle by a channel.

The field of 16 ladies was made up of invited riders like Burton European Open slopestyle champion Enni Rukajärvi and halfpipe Olympians Lisa Wiik (NOR) and Cilka Sadar (SLO). Jordie Karlinski out of Aspen, Colorado started off her winning run with a Cab 180 to boardslide, followed by a 50/50 boardslide to fakie, Cab 180, frontside boardslide on the down rail, boardslide to fakie on the wall ride, busting a Cab 540 on the first kicker, frontside air on the second jump, finishing with a backside 360 mute.

Then it was the men’s turn to drop in, 43 riders took to the course, including Canadians Charles Reid and Mark Sollors in addition to Stale Sandbech (NOR), Antti Autti (FIN), Seppe Smits (BEL), and reigning O’Neill Evolution slopestyle and Air & Style champion Marko Grilc (SLO).

The optimal weather and stellar field of competitors made for a great contest. In the first run, Brett Esser out of Iowa impressed the judges with his technical rail skills and huge clean jumps which incorporated multiple grabs in his spins and clean transfers over the channels. But it was 17-year-old World Rookie Tour champion Roope Tonteri out of Finland that stomped his second run, taking the top spot.

Tonteri started out with Cab to nosepress, followed by a gap 270 lipslide, into a 360 tap over the log, followed by a backside 360 pivot, backside 540 Indy on the wallride, landing a huge Cab 900 indy on the first kicker, followed by a frontside 720 melon over the channel on the second hit, finishing with a huge backside 900 tailgrab over the lower channel.

The top eight ladies and top 16 men are moving on to Sunday’s slopestyle finals. The Canadian Open action continues tomorrow with men’s and women’s halfpipe semifinals and finals. Don’t miss the action which starts at 12:00 p.m. EST. Tune-in to Go211.com and watch it all happen live at Canada Olympic Park.

An overall male and female Burton Global Open Series Champion will be crowned at the final event, the US Open Snowboarding Championships held in Stratton, Vermont. The top three men and women will take home equal prize money, with first place winning $50,000, second place $30,000 and third place taking home $20,000.

On the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour, current World No.2 Sina Candrian (SUI) has the possibility to edge out the current leader Sarka Pancochova (CZE). Other riders with a good chance to improve their ranks are current World No. 3 Lisa Wiik (NOR) and World No. 6 Enni Rukajärvi (FIN). On the men’s side Norwegian rookie Stale Sandbech and Marko Grilc (SLO) are both in contention for the World No. 2 spot that is currently held by Swiss rider Christian Haller.

If you can’t make it to Canada Olympic Park, watch the semifinals and finals live on Go211.com, where webcasts and highlights of the competitions will also be available for on-demand viewing once the event is over. The 2010 Canadian Open halfpipe and slopestyle action can be seen on The Score on February 28 at 4:00 p.m. EST.


Slopestyle Semi-Finals Women

1 Jordie Karlinski USA NIKITA
2 Lisa Wiik NOR ROXY
3 Sina Candrian SUI BURTON
4 Enni Rukajärvi FIN ROXY
5 Meri Peltonen FIN PROTEST
6 Breanna Stangeland CAN FORUM
7 Brooke Voigt CAN BILLABONG
8 Alexandra Duckworth CAN OAKLEY


Slopestyle Semi-Finals Men

1 Roope Tonteri FIN BURTON
2 Brett Esser USA OMATIC
3 Mark McMorris CAN O`NEILL
4 Ethan Morgan GER FORUM
5 Craig Beaulieu CAN CLYDE BOARDS6 Marko Grilc SLO BURTON
7 Seppe Smits BEL BURTON
8 Janne Korpi FIN KISSMARK
9 Kevin Backstrom SWE BURTON
10 Jon Versteeg CAN NOMIS
11 Trevor Jacob USA NIKE6.0
12 Joachim Krogstie NOR BURTON
13 Zak Stone CAN VOLCOM
14 Robby Balharry CAN WESTBEACH
15 Antti Autti FIN NIDECKER
16 Mark Sollors CAN BURTON