8th Annual TransWorld SNOWboarding Riders Poll Nominees

Every year at about this time, the world’s top snowboarders are confronted with a choice—mai tai or pina colada, just kidding. Riders are asked to decide who rode the best, who stepped up when others backed off, who didn’t break under the pressure—basically, who is the best snowboarder in the world—and who put themselves in the position to take it on next winter? We call them Rookies and Pros. The top professional riders have spoken and voted. TransWorld SNOWboarding Magazine announces the nominees for the 8th Annual Riders’ Poll Awards:

Men’s Rookie Of The Year:
Aaron Biittner / Technine
Chas Guldemond / Santa Cruz
Danny Davis / Burton

Women’s Rookie Of The Year:
Cheryl Maas / Forum
Elena Hight / Burton
Jamie Anderson / Salomon

Men’s Rider Of The Year:
Andreas Wiig / O-Matic
Eero Ettala / Nitro
Shaun White / Burton

Women’s Rider Of The Year:
Gretchen Bleiler / K2
Hana Beaman / Vans
Torah Bright / Salomon

Chas Guldemond / Santa Cruz
(U.S. Open Slopestyle Run)
David Benedek / Salomon
(Gap Session—Double-cork frontside 1260)
Kelly Clark / Burton
(Final Olympic Halfpipe Run)

Readers’ Choice:Men’s and Women’s nominees TBA

Congratulations to all the nominees! For the first time in TransWorld SNOWboarding history, the awards ceremony will be taped by FUEL TV, our television partner, and telecasted as a 30-minute special on Monday, January 8 at 9:30 pm. ET/PT. Check out www.fuel.tv for more information.

Huge thanks to this year’s sponsors for their support: Motorola, K2 Snowboards, 686, Vans, New Era, Vail Resorts, Recco, and Mack Dawg.