The week-long competition, hampered by high winds and freezing temperatures, making it difficult for both athletes and event organizers to stick to predetermined schedules, saw both Superpipe and Slopestyle events completed. Event organization, course quality, down-town rail sessions, entertainment program and team hosting ran smoothly showcasing yet another great TTR Event week.

The Superpipe and Slopestyle competition format was held as a ‘Jam-session’. Multi-rider heats were drawn allowing competitors to rotate constantly during their given heats which lasted between 30 to 60 minutes depending on group size. The format enabled up to two riders to enter the course at any given time. With an International Judging panel split into two teams, results were posted quickly giving constant heat updates and a dynamic event flow for riders, TV crews and spectators alike.

SuperpipeAndre Kuhlmann, one of Germany’s top professional freestyle snowboarder, pulled out all stops in the latter period of his semi-final and final Superpipe ‘Jam-session’ heat. Kuhlmann performed with German precision, securing himself the 2005 ‘O’Neill Pro Freestyle’ Superpipe title. Kuhlmann won ahead of French Junior Halfpipe Champion Gary Zebrowski (FRA) and Finnland’s Janne Korpi.

The women’s top places went to seasoned professional Nici Pederzolli (AUT), leaving the remaining podium slots to be snapped up by Cecile Alzina (FRA) and Daniela Roth (SUI) respectively.

SlopestyleWhile the Germanic countries took top honors during the Superpipe, it was Scandinavia that claimed a clean sweep of the men’s podium places. Norway’s Erik Botner clearly won Saturday’s 1.5 hour Slopestyle ‘Jam-session’. In freezing and gusty conditions Botner’s top scoring run (8.45 out of a possible 10) kept him in the lead despite strong advances from the likes of Chris Sorman (SWE) and Eirik Haugo (NOR). Haugo was unfortunate to fall during what was looking to be the run to topple Botner’s reign as ‘King of Slopestyle’ at the ‘O’Neill Pro Freestyle.

In the women’s it was again a Germanic who took top honors. Austria’s Claudia Fliri distanced herself from the rest of the field with nice technical combination runs to take first place. Silvie Schlebeth (GER) came second with Emily Akerblom (SWE) taking third.

Four ‘Tickets to Ride’ WonThe wins for Kuhlmann and Pederzolli in Superpipe and Erik Botner and Claudia Fliri in Slopestyle secure all four athletes ‘Tickets to Ride’ at this weeks TTR Pro Series event, the ‘Nescafe Champs Open-Leysin’ which commences on Thursday and will run from the 3rd-6th February. The top placed male at the events Slopestyle competition will be award both the TTR Pro Series title and one ‘Ticket to Ride’ for the season’s final event ‘The Arctic Challenge’.

For more information on ‘Nescafe Champs Open-Leysin’ go to:

2005 ‘O’Neill Pro Freestyle’ results:

Superpipe – Men

1st Andre Kuhlmann GER

2nd Gary Zebrowski FRA

3rd Janne Korpi FIN

4th Gian Simmen SUI

5th Henning Marthinsen NOR

6th Eirik Haugo NOR

7th Lucas Debari USA

8th Thomas Parfait FRA

Superpipe – Women

1st Nici Pederzolli AUT

2nd Cecile Alzina FRA

3rd Daniela Roth AUT

4th Angele Clavet FRA

5th Margot Rozies FRA

6th Caroline Beliard FRA

7th Lisa Quirici SUI

8th Jenny Jones UK

Slopestyle – Mens

1. Erik Botner NOR

2. Chris Sorman SWE

3. Eirik Haugo NOR

4. Ilka Ojansivu FIN

5. Alexandre Doumergue FRA

6. Tobias Karlsson SWE

7. Matti Olila FIN

8. Damien Henzelin SUI

Slopestyle – Womens

1. Claudia Fliri AUT

2. Silvie Schlebeth GER

3. Emily Akerblom SWE

4. Barbora Stevulova SLK

5. Laura Berry UK

For other TTR or TTR QE event dates go to: