The Battle Hits Riksgrà¤nsen March 10-14

The Battle 2004 is getting closer and the preparations are well underway. There is no rest in the office, phones are ringing non-stop, emails are rolling in and goodnight sleep is just a little dream in the back of our minds… But what we all know is that the fourth edition of The Battle is going to rock in Riksgrà¤nsen, Sweden 10th to 14th of March!!! The location change has been smooth and together with The Battle, Riksgrà¤nsen is getting ready to welcome spectators and media from all over the world.

The Battle has always been famous for the dream and the passion for snowboarding and of course the sickest park ever! And this year we definitely won’t disappoint the expectations… Johan Formgren, our head shaper, is happy. Riksgrà¤nsen is able to provide all the snow for the park. The preparations for the park have been started: 500hours of snow cats and 40.000 cubic meters of snow and The Battle park will rule again the 10-14th of March!

“Thanks to the extraordinary conditions in Riksgrà¤nsen I really feel that the ideas we couldn’t fulfill last year are now to be tried out. I am really excited to see what boundaries will be moved on the two 15m high corners, the 10m high valley-pipe, the 25m long steep-jump and the new Inca-feature that is yet secret.” Johan Formgren, Head Shaper, The Battle

Eight teams from five different continents around the world will take part of this year’s event, trying to beat each other. The big finals will take place on the Saturday, 14th of March.

Latest rider updates for The Battle:

Team – Local:
Team Captain: Jacob Söderqvist + Hampus Mosseson, Jacob Wilhelmsson , Peter Ström, Björn Lindgren and Fredrik Sarvell

Team – Scandinavia:
Team Captain: Ingemar Backman(SWE) + Markku Koski(FIN), Eero Ettala(FIN), Stefan Karlsson(SWE) and Marius Otterstad(NOR)

Team – Europe Germania:
Team Captain: Michi Albin(SUI) + Marco Grilc(SLO), Alex Schmalz(GER), Chris Kröll (AUT), Gammy (SUI)

Team – Europe Latin:
Team Captain: Jonas Emery(SUI) + Mathieu Crepel(FRA), Giacomo Kratter(ITA), Ton Ton Holland(SUI)

Team – Asia:
Team Captain: Rio Tahara(JAP) + Goro Komatsu (JAP), Tsuyoshi Kusumoto(JAP), Ken Shibuya(JAP) and Yuichi Onobu(JAP)

Team – USA:
Team Captain: Andy Finch + Nate Sheenan, Dorian Labourn

Team – Southern Hemisphere:
Team Captain: Quentin Robbins(NZ) + Dylan Butt(NZ), Will Jackways(NZ), Jake Koia(NZ) and Marcus Wherle(AUS)

Team — Canada:
Team Captain: Kale Stephens + Travis Williams, JF Fortin, Mike Osatsch

Judging will be done by the riders themselves. As supervisor judges for the Individual Titles we have experienced riders such as Johan Olofsson etc.

Best Team wins, individuals will be awarded and the Ticket To Ride presented to the Overall Ripper.

Event Schedule.

Thursday 11th
11:00-16:00 Riding Sessions
14:00-18:00 Rider Activities — riders will get the chance to try out Blue Carts (Ice Yachts) and the latest Volvo DSTC-cars, all on a frozen lake!!!

Friday 12th
14:00-17:00 Riding Sessions
19:00-… Night Session

Saturday 13th

13:00-16:00 Battle Finals19:00 Price Giving 22:00-… Party

On the Friday night, 12th of March, The Battle will hit the dark nocturnal mountains, in a fully lighted park where the best riders in the world will push their limits in this all new format…The Battle Night Session! All forty invited riders will be there to cause some serious night mayhem and to get ready for the next day’s finals, taking of at 1pm on the Saturday afternoon.