Mike Shea and Bibian Mentel Win Dew Tour Adaptive Competition

Winter conditions greeted the first day of the 2016 Dew Tour in Breckenridge, Colorado. The Dew Tour’s first ever men's and women's Adaptive Competition went down with 20 of the top snowboard para-athletes from around the world going for their best time in the banked slalom.

Presented by Toyota, in partnership with Adaptive Action Sports, each competitor was allotted three runs to make their fastest time possible, and their chance at the Dew Tour Title. Consistent snowfall didn't seem to hold riders back from flying through the challenging banked slalom course. After all was said and done, it was Colorado local, Mike Shea with a time of 39.93 seconds, who was crowned the first Dew Tour Adaptive Competition Champ.

"I feel amazing that I was able to pull off a win at the first ever Dew Tour banked slalom event for adaptive athletes," said Shea. "I am so appreciative of everything that Adaptive Action Sports, Toyota, Dew Tour, Breckenridge and Mountain Dew has done for this event."

Coming in less than a tenth of a second behind Shea at 40.05 seconds was San Francisco's Evan Strong. Third place honors went to Pennsylvania native Mike Minor at 40.23 seconds.

With Adaptive Action Sports founder and 2014 Paralympic bronze medalist Amy Purdy out of the contest due to a recent injury, the women's field opened up, with Bibian Mentel reigning supreme, with the fastest scores on both of her runs, finishing with a best of 45.35 seconds.

"It's awesome being here and it was great we got the chance to show that we as adaptive riders can ride in an event like this," expressed Mentel.

Rallying in second behind Mentel was Lisa Bunschoten from the Netherlands, with 45.64 seconds. Salt Lake City local, Brenna Huckaby, finished third in 48.07 seconds.

Dew Tour and Toyota will also be giving back to Adaptive Action Sports all weekend long by donating 10 dollars each time an event-goer takes a Toyota out for a spin at the Toyota's Ride N' Drive event taking place at the Blue River Plaza in downtown Breckenridge as part of the Dew Tour Festival.



1. Mike Shea, USA, 39.93 seconds

2. Evan Strong, USA, 40.05 seconds

3. Mike Minor, USA, 40.23 seconds

4. Griim Narita, JPN, 40.73 seconds

5. Matti Suur-Hamari, FIN, 41.31 seconds

6. Zach Miller, USA, 41.58 seconds


1. Bibian Mentel, NED, 45.35 seconds

2. Lisa Bunschoten, NED, 45.64 seconds

3. Brenna Huckaby, USA, 48.07 seconds

Check out more from the Dew Tour here!