The comeback of the legendary Straight Jump format to the Bergisel Stadium was a full success. 11.500 fans witnessed their snowboard heroes at the Billabong Air & Style Innsbruck-Tirol 09/ II. On the perfectly working kicker, that replaced the quarterpipe of last year, Marko Grilc (SLO) ruled the final of four with a Switch Backside 1080 Double Corked Mute Grab and 281 points. He only recently entered the starting the field of 16 riders after the Canadian Sebastien Toutant had to cancel because of an unfortunate injury. Peetu Piroiinen (21 years/FIN/268 Pts.) placed second and Andreas Wiig (28/NOR/251 Pts.) came in third. Swiss rider Iouri Podladtchikov (21/SUI/54 Pts.) finished in fourth.
Local rider Werner Stock (22/AUT) from the Zillertal finished the event successfully in sixth place, closely follwoed by Elias Elhardt from Germany (21/Oberstaufen). The three times winner of the Air & Style, Stefan Gimpl (30/AUT) from Leogang and the Austrian Gigi Ruf (28) were kicked out of the contest by Peetu Piroiinen and Elias Elhardt in the first round. In the Rookie competition that consisted of 12 riders, it was the 18 year-old Seppe Smits from Belgium who went home with the win. His reward—a spot in next year's starting field of 16 riders at the Billlabong Air & Style 2010.

As the first 6Star Swatch TTR World snowboard Tour event of the season, the Billabong Air & Style gives out the first stack of 1000 TTR ranking points and as such causes significant changes on the world ranking list. Marko Grilc (SLO) not only won his first 6Star title but is also the new Swatch TTR Tour leader after today.

Billabong Air & Style Innsbruck-Tirol 09/II: Top 3 Rookie Challenge

1 Seppe Smits BEL 254 Pkt. Backside 1260 Mute
2 Tom Klocker AUT 244 Pkt. Frontside 1080 Indy
3 Niki Korpela FIN 239 Pkt. Frontside 1440 Melon

Billabong Air & Style Music Acts

Again, the Air & Style Innsbruck fascinated the crowds with its unique atmosphere, sportive highlights and popular music live acts with K.I.Z. and The Hives.

2009 Billabong Air and Style Results:

1. Marko Grilc
2. Peetu Piiroinen
3. Andreas Wiig
4. Iouri Podlatchikov
5. Eero Ettala
6. Werner Stock
7. Elias Elhardt
8. Torstein Horgmo
9. Antti Autti
10. Marc Swoboda
11. Chas Guldemond
12. Stefan Gimpl
13. Risto Mattila
14. Tim Humphreys
15. Travis Rice
16. Gigi Rüf