Big news coming out of Canada last week as the Canadian National Snowboarding Team was officially announced for the upcoming season. While Louif Paradis and Frank April have yet again not been named to the team, the Canadian shred scene looks as strong as ever. According to the press release, 38 riders are on the team for the 2017/18 season with a majority of the Olympic and Paralympic spots still up for grabs. The competition for the spots will be heavy!

More 2018 Winter Olympic coverage from TransWorld SNOWboarding here!

As the team prepares for Pyeongchang and the 2018 Winter Olympics spots, they have a strong season to build upon, amassing over 38 podiums across major competitions this past winter. If you don’t remember, there was basically a Canadian or two in the top three at every event this year.

With a handful of first and second place finishes a piece, two riders stood out amongst the rest and have already been provisionally named to the Olympmic team: Mark McMorris and Max Parrot. Max podiumed at the Burton U.S. Open, Winter X Games, Laax Open, and overall at the world tour just to name a few. McMorris, with a resume that already includes an Olympic medal, took his fair share of top spots as well before suffering from a crash in the Whistler backcountry in late March. As Mark looks to make a full recovery, we can’t wait to see what this next season of competition brings! Full team list below.

Snowboardcross National Team
Chris Robanske (Calgary, AB)
Kevin Hill (Vernon, BC)
Baptiste Brochu (Saguenay, QC)
Tess Critchlow (Kelowna, BC)
Zoe Bergermann (Erin, ON)
Carle Brenneman
(North Vancouver, BC)
Meryeta O’Dine (Prince George, BC)
Katie Anderson (Jaffray, BC)
Marcel Mathieu, Rene Brunner

Alpine Snowboard National Team

Jasey-Jay Anderson
(Mt Tremblant, QC)
Darren Gardner (Burlington, ON)
Sébastien Beaulieu
(Sherbrooke, QC)
Richard Evanoff (Pickering, ON)
Megan Farrell (Richmond Hill, ON)
Kaylie Buck (Oakville, ON)

Para-Snowboard National Team

John Leslie (Arnprior, ON)
Alex Massie (Barrie, ON)
Andrew Genge (Oshawa, ON)
Gerrit Van Bruggen (Nelson, BC)
Curtis Minard (Vernon, BC)
Michelle Salt (Calgary, AB)
Coaches: Mark Fawcett, Dave Balne

Halfpipe National Team
Derek Livingston (Aurora, ON)
Trevor Niblett (Toronto, ON)
Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, BC)
Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto, ON)
Elizabeth Hosking (Longueuil, QC)
Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON)
Coach: Mike Slaughter

Slopestyle National Team
Mark McMorris (Regina, SK)*
Sébastien Toutant (Montreal, QC)
Maxence Parrot (Bromont, QC)*
Tyler Nicholson (North Bay, ON)
Darcy Sharpe (Comox, BC)
Michael Ciccarelli (Ancaster, ON)
Max Eberhardt (North Bay, ON)
Spencer O’Brien (Courtenay, BC)
Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, ON)
Laurie Blouin (Stoneham, QC)
Brooke Voigt (Fort McMurray, AB)
Baily McDonald (Barrie, ON)
Coaches: Elliot Catton, Chris Witwicki

More from Transworld Snowboarding here!