LG Snowboard FIS World Cup Stockholm, Sweden, on November 19th, 2011

Three weeks after the LG Snowboard FIS World Cup season’s first big air contest in London, Stockholm will host the second event. On November 19th, the big air cracks will meet in the Swedish capital for the sixth consecutive time since 2006. More than 60 riders coming from 17 nations have applied to start at the 2011 Stadium Winterjam which will take place in the Olympic Stadium of 1912.


Petja Piiroinen . PHOTO FIS/ Oliver Kraus

The high-class field is led by Janne Korpi (FIN), who not only sits on top of the Freestyle Snowboard Overall World Cup ranking due to his victories in New Zealand (halfpipe) and England (big air) but also clinched the #1 spot at the Stockholm event twice. After the 25- years-old Finn had won in 2007, he was able to keep hold to his title in 2008 thus edging of Chris Sorman to the second spot. In addition, he also hampered the first ever Swedish win at the Stadium Winterjam. Ever since, no rider of the Tre Kroner came closer to a home turf triumph than Sorman did in 2008.
This year, eleven Swedes, led by last year’s finalists Kevin Backstrom (fifth rank), Niklas Mattsson (seventh) and Tor Lundstrom (tenth) chance their luck. However, the biggest squad of the field will face some strong competition as Korpi is not the only "Flying Finn" to showcase his tricks. Roope Tonteri (FIN) and reigning World Champion Petja Piiroinen (FIN) are also expected to drop in.
In addition and according to the local organizers, second and third ranked riders of the London Freeze event, Seppe Smits (BEL) and Joris Ouwerkerk (NED) are ready for another podium result.
This season’s sole event on Swedish soil also features the likes of top Vikings Staale Sandbech (NOR) and Gjermund Braaten (NOR) as well as Patrick Burgener (SUI), Marko Grilc (SLO), who placed second in 2009 thus missing the top spot by only 0.3 points as well as Big Air-Slopestyle World Cup title defender Clemens Schattschneider (AUT).

The last five year’s top-3:

Sebastien Toutant (CAN)
Petja Piiroinen (FIN)
Patrick Burgener (SUI)
Stefan Gimpl (AUT)
Marko Grilc (SLO)
Gjermund Braaten (NOR)
Janne Korpi (FIN)
Chris Sörman (SWE)
Seppe Smits (BEL)
Janne Korpi (FIN)
Risto Mattila (FIN)
Sami Saarenpaa (FIN)
Matevz Petek (SLO)
Peetu Piiroinen (FIN)
Risto Mattila (FIN)