Dew Tour Toyota Championship At Northstar-At-Tahoe, Feb. 19-22

The Winter Dew Tour today announced the schedule of events for its final stop of the inaugural season, the Toyota Championship, held Feb. 19-22 at Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort in Truckee, Calif.  The world's top snowboard and freeski athletes, including Shaun White, Torah Bright and Simon Dumont, will compete for the coveted Dew Cup and a share of the $1.5 million prize purse offered in Northstar at the end of the three-stop series.

Leading the series in the snowboard disciplines are top athletes Shaun White, (first in slopestyle and superpipe), Kelly Clark (superpipe) and Spencer O'Brien (slopestyle). White recently took home X Games gold in both disciplines and is looking to be the first Dew Tour athlete to be crowned Dew Cup champion on the Summer Dew Tour and Winter Dew Tour. Key contenders to compete in women's snowboard slopestyle in Tahoe include recent X Games gold medalist Jenny Jones, and silver medalist O'Brien. In superpipe, X Games silver medalist Scotty Lago will join bronze medalist Mikkel Bang in their attempts to unseat White. X Games gold medalist Torah Bright will be looking for her first Dew Tour win of the season in the superpipe.

A few notable athletes to compete in Tahoe are as follows:

SNB Pipe Men: Shaun White, Louie Vito, JJ Thomas, Torstein Horgmo, Trevor Jacob, Andy Finch
SNB Pipe Women:  Hannah Teter, Ellery Hollingsworth, Torah Bright, Kjersti Buaas, Elena Hight
SNB Slope Men:  Shaun White, Mikkel Bang, Andreas Wiig, Torstein Horgmo,
SNB Slope Women: Jenny Jones, Torah Bright, Kjersti Buaas, Spencer O'Brien
SKI Pipe Men: Tanner Hall, Simon Dumont, Jossi Wells, Byron Wells, Dan Marion
SKI Slope Men: TJ Schiller, Simon Dumont, Bobby Brown, Jossi Wells, Charles Gagnier, PK Hunder, Jacob Wester, Peter Olenick
The schedule of events is as follows:

Thursday, February 19
11:00AM – 2:30PM     Mens/Women's Snowboard Slopestyle Prelims
Noon – 1:30PM        Men's Freeski Superpipe Prelims

Friday, February 20
10:00AM – 12:30PM    Men's Freeski Slopestyle Prelims
2:00PM – 3:30PM    Men's/Women's Snowboard Slopestyle Final
5:00PM – 7:00PM    Concert in Festival Village – Common and Tweak Bird

Saturday, February 21
10:00AM – 1:00PM    Men's/Women's Snowboard Superpipe Prelims
11:30AM – 1:00PM    Men's Freeski Slopestyle Final
3:00PM – 3:30PM    Women's Freeski Slopestyle Exhibition
6:00PM – 7:30PM    Men's Freeski Superpipe Final

Sunday, February 22
11:00AM – 11:30AM    Women's Freeski Superpipe Exhibition
Noon – 3:00PM        Men's/Women's Snowboard Superpipe Final


TV Schedule
NBC        Saturday, Feb. 21th    2:30pm-4:00pm EST        SKI Slope Men Finals
NBC        Sunday, Feb. 22st    4:00pm-6:00pm EST         SNB Pipe Women/ Men Finals

USA Network    Friday, Feb. 20th     Midnight-1:00am EST        SNB Slope Women/ Men Finals
USA Network    Saturday, Feb. 21th     Midnight-1:00am EST        SKI Pipe Men Finals

Similar to the Dew Tour's summer competition structure, the Winter Dew Tour is based on a cumulative points system as the top snow athletes battle it out for a piece of the $1.5 million prize purse and the chance to take home the Dew Cup at the conclusion of the season in February.

The complete 2008/09 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event            Date            Location
Stop 1            Dec. 18-21, 2008    Breckenridge, Colo.—Breckenridge Ski Resort
Stop 2            Jan. 8-11, 2009        West Dover, Vt.—Mount Snow Resort
Toyota Championship    Feb. 19-22, 2009    Truckee, Calif.—Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort