Cartoon Network Announces Powerpuff Snow 10

Ten Girls with Powerpuff Stuff Selected as Team Members of Grassroots Sponsorship Program

The Cartoon Network deepened its action-sports involvement by announcing the team members of the Powerpuff Snow 10. Teaming up with top action-sports publication, Transworld Snowboarding, Cartoon Network selected 10 up-and-coming amateur female athletes who best represent the “girl power” spirit of Cartoon Network’s phenomenally successful show, The Powerpuff Girls.

Since 1999, Cartoon Network has been involved in the action-sports world through sponsorship of competitive events and demonstrations including the annual Boarding For Breast Cancer (BBC) Festival at Sierra-At-Tahoe Resort, California. The strong sense of “girl power” that is central to the female action-sports community of snowboarders, skaters, and surfers, ties directly into the attitude of The Powerpuff Girls ¿ making Cartoon Network’s presence in this arena a natural fit.

In addition to the Powerpuff Snow 10 program, Cartoon Network supports professional snowboarder Jaime MacLeod, and professional surfer Prue Jeffries. To further define its action-sports involvement, Cartoon Network and its licensees are developing new products that incorporate imagery and design elements central to the snow, surf, skate lifestyle, in addition to a national print and television advertising campaign that launched earlier this year.

In January 2001, Cartoon Network, with the assistance of Transworld Snowboarding set out to find 10 up-and-coming amateur female snowboarders to comprise its grassroots sponsorship program ¿ the goal being to lend support to the next wave of female athletes, by fostering their passion for their chosen sport. The response from interested athletes was excellent, but in the end only ten female snowboarders made the final cut, with selection based on athletic ability and an entry essay. Each team member will receive pre-released Powerpuff Girls products, and up to $400 to be put toward contest entry fees.

Cartoon Network is proud to announce the Powerpuff Snow 10:

Nicole Lee Schafer, Woodridge, IL
Jen McCullough, Breckenridge, CO
Jennifer Jacobs, Maple Heights, OH
Jennie Councell, Aurora, CO
Sarah Long, Jackson, WY
Jenny Naftulin, New Hope, PA
Jennifer Blake, Brighton, MA
Meghan Kasper, Avon, CO
Merrick H. Johnston, Anchorage, AK
Stacy Thomas, Seattle, WA

In addition to receiving merchandise and contest entry fees, members of the team will be recognized in national print publications as well as on The Powerpuff Girls’ official Website,, which also highlights Powerpuff Girls pro riders Jaime MacLeod and Prue Jeffries.

Cartoon Network, currently viewed in 73.9 million U.S. homes and 145 countries around the world, is Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.’s 24-hour, ad-supported cable service offering the best in animated entertainment.