Air & Style Rider Pairings Announced

Showdown at the Bergisel

Drawing for the first K.O.- Rounds shows: there are no easy competitors at the
Billabong Air & Style Innsbruck-Tirol 09/II

Innsbruck, 04.12.09 ‐ The pairs for the first rounds of the Billabong Air & Style Innsbruck-Tirol
09/II are fixed. At the public drawing right in the center of Innsbruck exciting competitions
occurred in front of hundreds of fans. The top favourites Travis Rice and Peetu Piiroinen
have already in the first rounds to kick out some strong riders, just to make it into the final
four and to have a chance for the great demanded Ring of Glory.
TTR-Champion Peetu Piroiinen (FIN) is in competition with Austrian's snowboard legend Gigi
Rüf. His local friend Werner Stock is confronted with a rough task riding against Chas
Guldemond from USA. The winner of Air & Style of 2006 Travis Rice (USA) is challenged by
Andreas Wiig (NOR). A just Finish duel takes place between Eero Ettala and Risto Mattila.
Germany's hope Elias Elhardt has to handle Mikkel Bang from Norway, second winner of Air
& Style 2007. That is quite a hard job. Torstein Horgmo (NOR) struggling with the flue
competes against Tim Humphreys (USA) winner of the Rookie Session in 2007. Pat Moore is
confronted with Iouri Podladtchikov from Switzerland. The Finnish star Antti Autti knows his
competitor not yet. Because of an injuriy of Seb Toutant (CAN) his standby rider will replace
him. Who this will be is clear after the training on this afternoon.
Who will put the Ring on his finger will be decided on 05.12.09 at 17:00 in the Bergisel
Stadium. The training from yesterday shows that the kicker is spectacular and snowboarding
on a high level can be expected. Tickets are still in presale or you try to get one at the box

Here the pairs of the first rounds:
1) Mikkel Bang (NOR) – Elias Elhardt (GER)
2) Pat Moore (USA) – Iouri Podladtchikov (SUI)
3) Chas Guldemond (USA) – Werner Stock (AUT)
4) Antti Autti (FIN) – tba (standby rider will be announced)
5) Peetu Piiroinen (FIN) – Gigi Rüf (AUT)
6) Risto Mattila (FIN) – Eero Ettala (FIN)
7) Travis Rice (USA) – Andreas Wiig (NOR)
8) Torstein Horgmo (NOR) – Tim Humphreys (USA)

WATCH LIVE HERE ON Saturday Dec 5th.