2005 US SNOW team announced!

2005 U.S. Snowboard Team Named

PARK CITY, Utah (July 21) – The 2005 U.S. Snowboard Team, featuring superstar riders Steve Fisher, Hannah Teter and Lindsey Jacobellis, was announced Wednesday by U.S. Snowboarding Program Director Jeremy Forster. In addition to a deep list of accomplished riders, the announcement also includes an historic first: USA’s first snowboardcross (SBX) team. Sweet.

Headlining the all-star squad are X Games halfpipe champs Steve Fisher (St. Louis Park, MN) and Hannah Teter (Belmont, VT) as well as X Games SBX winner Lindsey Jacobellis (Bondville, VT), who qualified for the U.S. Team in both halfpipe and SBX. Along with success on world and national tours the trio became the first U.S. Snowboard Team riders to hit three wins at the X Games, boosting them into the forefront of snowboarding success.

“This is a stacked group of athletes with proven contests results and experience,” said Forster. “Our coaches and staff are psyched to be working with such a great crew of riders and we’re looking forward to seeing how things develop after our summer camps.”

A one-woman highlight reel, Jacobellis won every SBX race she entered during the ’04 season, including four World Cup races, the X Games and the national title with a victory at the Mammoth Mountain Grand Prix. Leading the men’s inaugural team is SBX veteran and ’03 World Championship silver medalist Seth Wescott (Farmington, ME). Also a five-time X Games medalist, Wescott has been an advocate of including SBX in the Olympics and continues to be a World Cup contender.

Teter, the ’04 U.S. Snowboard Grand Prix halfpipe champion, continued to progress women’s riding, winning her first five contests on the year before suffering a back injury at the second of two World Cups in Sapporo, Japan. It barely slowed the 17-year-old and she was back on the podium within two weeks working a McTwist into her already technical run. Also battling through injury, Fisher shook off early-season knee problems to win two stops of the Triple Crown tour before grabbing second place at the exclusive invite-only Arctic Challenge in Tromso, Norway.

On the alpine side, it was a bookend season as the U.S. roster opened and closed the ’04 World Cup tour with momentum. Leading the team was Olympic bronze medalist Chris Klug (Aspen, CO) and Michelle Gorgone (Sudbury, MA). After the pair started the season with wins on the NorAm circuit, Gorgone went on to post five World Cup top-five finishes, while Klug ended his season with four top 10s in five weeks including a third place on the 2006 Olympic course at the World Cup Finals.

“Our goal has always been to put American riders on the Olympic podium,” said Forster. “As we move towards Torino in 2006, I believe we are on track to achieving that goal.”

This year also marks a change in the alpine coaching staff. Jan Wengelin, who coached the 2002 Olympic Team, returns to head up the women’s alpine team and Jeff Archibald, in his second year coaching full-time with the team, will head up the men’s side. Archibald also is a former U.S. Snowboard Team member.

“Jan worked with us for several years prior to the 2002 Olympics,” said U.S. Snowboarding Head Coach Peter Foley, “but as head alpine coach during the Games, he fielded a team of seven athletes, put two in the finals and brought home one bronze medal. Many of our athletes experienced great results under his guidance and we’re looking forward to seeing him make that impact again.”

The program will operate under the direction of Foley, who also will take up the reigns as head SBX coach. Departing is Nick Smith, head snowboard alpine coach, who leaves with an accomplished record.

“As a coach, Nick was someone the athletes always knew they could rely on and trust,” said Foley, who worked with Smith for four seasons – two of which while Smith served as head coach. “As a co-worker, he was always willing to share the responsibility and pull his weight.

“Nick came frrom a grassroots club and because of his background, he never lost sight of the importance of building and supporting the domestic programs while still keeping an eye on World Cup victories.”


MEN A TeamTommy Czeschin (24; Mammoth Lakes, CA; halfpipe), Steve Fisher (21; St. Louis Park, MN; halfpipe), Nate Holland (25; Olympic Valley, CA; snowboardcross), Chris Klug (30; Aspen, CO; alpine), Adam Smith (24; Tangent, OR; alpine), Seth Wescott (27; Farmington, ME; snowboardcross), Luke Wynen (27; Mammoth Lakes, CA; halfpipe)

B Team
Jason Hale (18; Sierraville, CA; snowboardcross), Ben Jacobellis (24; Bondville, VT; snowboardcross), Ryan McDonald (24; Entiat, WA; alpine), Mark Schulz (30; Portland, OR; snowboardcross), Matt Shrive (25; Redlands, CA; snowboardcross), Jason Smith (22; Basalt, CO; snowboardcross), Abe Teter (25; Belmont, VT; halfpipe), Elijah Teter (20; Belmont, VT; halfpipe), Pete Thorndike (27; Meredith, NH; alpine), Eric Warren (22; Bennington, VT; Alpine)

C Team
Alex Deibold (17; Manchester Center, VT; snowboardcross), Jeff Greenwood (28; Boulder, CO; snowboardcross), Tyler Jewell (27; Sudbury, MA; alpine), Zac Kay (22; Mount Shasta, CA; alpine), Luke Mitrani (13; Stratton, VT; halfpipe), Chris Nelson (25; Mammoth Lakes, CA; halfpipe), Justin Reiter (23; Silverthorne, CO; alpine)

Tricia Byrnes (29; Stratton, VT; halfpipe), Michelle Gorgone (20; Sudbury, MA; alpine), Lindsey Jacobellis (18; Bondville, VT; halfpipe, snowboardcross), Lisa Kosglow (30; Boulder, CO; alpine), Hannah Teter (17; Belmont, VT; halfpipe)

B Team
Joanie Anderson (17; Lake Tahoe, CA; snowboardcross), Clair Bidez (16; Minturn, CO; halfpipe), Rosey Fletcher (28; Girdwood, AK; alpine), Elena Hight (14; Zephyr Cove, NV; halfpipe), Stacia Hookom (28; Edwards, CO; alpine)

C Team
Erica Mueller (22; Okemo, VT; alpine)Wednesday, July 21, 2004