Boreal Expression Session 4 Recap

Words: Tucker Norred

Photos: Tucker Norred & Paul Heran

Video: Paul Heran

Partly cloudy skis with a 100% chance of awesome set the stage for an amazing Expression Session #4.  The innovative park feature and stacked field of competitors combined to make for a spectacle to witness.  Riders like Billy Garcia came from all over to participate and "express" themselves and impress the judges on some of the most creative features you have ever seen.  Meanwhile, Caleb Bonneville took the painful route to yet another podium spot with his first place finish in the Grom division (he also took home the Burger Me! Best Crash Award).  His fifth consecutive victory in the Grom Snowboard division completed his sweep of the 2013 series.

Incase you have been hiding in a hole for the last 15 years, the Boreal Expression Sessions are a homegrown event series as well as a refreshing change from your everyday rail jam. Skiers and Riders are each given a 40-minute open jam style heat to express themselves and impress the judges. This year's theme - Terrain Park Expressions - looks to unleash the creativity of Boreal's Terrain Park Staff to come up with some of the most crazy features and setups you have ever seen.  The double diesel cell feature that park staff designed created opportunities for endless combos and technical lines.

Free pizza and awards in the Boreal Lodge created a Chuckie Cheese atmosphere for shredders as young hands reached to the sky for free product.  To top it off, several of the sponsors, including Woodward Tahoe, Lib Tech, GNU, Academy, Skullcandy, and Sessions made an appearance while Skull Candy provided DJ Paul to set the tone with some funky beats.

Men's Snowboard (18+)

1.  Tyler Lynch

2.  Billy Garcia

3.  Anthony Brill

Teen Snowboard (13-17)

1.  Matty Britton

2.  Ryland West

3.  Tanner Misono

Grom Snowboard (12 & under)

1.  Caleb Bonneville

2.  Dean Ruskin

3.  Ryan Thompson

Women Snowboard

  1. Riley Elliot
  2. Cali Doerfler
  3. Corrine Mendall

Burger Me Best Crash Winner

Caleb Bonneville