History Of The TransWorlds SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll Awards

The 3rd Annual Riders’ Poll Awards

By the third show we were in a groove—we had our spot at the Joint at The Hard Rock, and we had our host with Sal Masekela.

We refer to this show as the “The Tara Dakides Show.” Although Shaun Palmer did grab the spotlight in his acceptance speech declaring, “I am a complete asshole. Every sport needs one and I’m glad to be your asshole.” Kevin Jones drained a can of beer on Tara Dakides’ head as she came up to accept one of the five awards she won that night … and Tara retaliated with a beer of her own over Kevin’s head. Todd Schlosser and Dave Lee’s band Eris rocked the boozy night away and the Wildcats terrorized the backstage. Remember when snowboarding was this raw?

Best Boardercross Rider: Shaun Palmer, Ine Pötzl

Best Big Mountain Rider: Jeremy Jones, Victoria Jealouse

Rock Star Of The Year: Peter Line

Best Rail Rider: JP Walker, Tara Dakides

Best Halfpipe Rider: Todd Richards, Nicola Thost

Best Freestyle Rider: Kevin Jones, Tara Dakides

Rookie Of The Year: Gigi Rüf, Anne Molin Kongsgaard

Best Video Part: Bjorn Leines

Best Overall Rider: Terje Haaksonsen, Tara Dakides

SIA Retailers Choice: Peter Line, Tara Dakides

Reader’s Choice: Terje Haakonsen, Tara Dakides