History Of The TransWorlds SNOWboarding Riders’ Poll Awards

 The 1st Annual Riders’ Poll Awards

The first show was held during the SIA tradeshow March 11, 1999 at The Hard Rock Hotel in Vegas. Hosted by Sal Masekela, the then receptionist/intern at TransWorld (who now hosts the X Games and “The Daily 10” on E) and then editor, Dave Sypniewski. (We’re guessing Dave introduced the “Congeniality” and “Cojones” categories.) Highlights from the night were Peter Line freestyling breakdance moves onstage and Tara Dakides winning the first of many awards to come. This was the year that Morgan Lafonte was backflipping at Hood in her bra, Johan was putting down gnarly lines in in Standards TB series, and of course, Mack Dawg released the iconic Decade.

Freestyle Riders Of The Year: Peter Line, Tara Dakides

Big Mountain Riders Of The Year: Johan Olofsson, Karleen Jeffrey

Pipe Riders Of The Year: Terje Haakonsen, Nicola Thost

Best Racers Of The Year: Mark Fawcett, Betsy Shaw

Boardercross Racers Of The Year: Shaun Palmer, Leslee Olsen

Congeniality: Dave Downing, Shannon Dunn

Cojones: Michael Michalchuk, Morgan LaFonte

Video Segment: Peter Line in Decade

Overall Video Of The Year: Decade