Words by Andrew J. Hogue / Photography by Aaron Blatt

Mother Nature can be a cold mistress. For those not riding today, it was a constant struggle to stay warm. For those who were, it was all about staying safe amidst sub zero temperatures and fifty mile per hour gusts. The semi-finals are now a wrap, but the weather claimed its victims. Ipod, and Lago went down yesterday, and thankfully, it won’t keep them from Winter X next week. However, Brock Waring sustained a concussion after bottoming out on the pipe today. In the end, Matt Ladley took first in the pipe, while Eric Willet locked up the slope. What should have been a warm up for Winter X has turned into a beast of its own. In light of the East Coast drought this winter, we gotta give a shout out to Killington’s amazing crew for making this happen. Now, the finals are here and with cash on the line: its time to drop the hammer. Let’s hope weather permits.

In the pipe, Ladley qualified first. Close in pursuit was Luke Mitrani, Roger Kleivdal, and Danny Davis, who placed in the top four respectively. With the Dew Cup in hand, the only rider that didn’t have to bare the cold was Louie Vito and he was still there to show his support. With Mason Aguirre and Jack Mitrani in the mix, the finals are going to be a contest amongst Frends and close relatives. Due to the weather, the riders kept it pretty low key during the semis. Yet, you can tell they are ready to rip and the stage is set. Tomorrow will be time to fly.

In slopestyle, Eric Willet double cork 1080’ed his way into the top spot, while Staale Sandbech, and Aleksander Ostreng filled out the top three. After placing in the top three at Breck, Gjermund Braaten, Sebastien Toutant, and Charles Reid hold golden tickets, so they will be joining in the fun as well.

1Matt Ladley95.25
2Luke Mitrani93.00
3Roger Kleivdal88.75
4Danny Davis87.75
5Jack Mitrani84.00
6Zachary Black82.50
7Tore Holvik79.75
8Mason Aguirre78.25
9Kyle Mack77.00
10Spencer Shaw74.50
11Scotty Pike66.25
12Benji Farrow64.00
13Derek Livingston63.00
14Fredrik Austbo62.75
15Scott Moline62.50
16Joeseph Mensch59.50
17Hans Mindnich55.00
18Bryan Daino50.00
19Ryo Aoki45.75
20Nils Mindnich43.50
21Harrison Gray41.75
22Tyler Anderson21.50
23Trevor Jacob16.50
24Broc Waring10.00
25Scott LagoDNS
26Ben WattsDNS
1Eric Willett92.67
2Staale Sandbech89.50
3Aleksander Østreng88.67
4Antoine Truchon85.33
5Justin Morgan83.17
6Mark Mcmorris79.50
7Chas Guldemond79.00
8Ulrik Badertscher78.17
9Jake Aaronson77.00
10Robby Balharry76.17
11Sondre Tiller75.33
12Torgeir Bergrem74.50
13Sage Kotsenburg74.17
14Ian Thorley72.50
15Chris Tierney72.33
16Brandon Reis71.33
17Ville Uotila70.00
18Sam Hulbert62.83
19Seth Hill61.83
20Pat Burgener53.00
21Dash Kamp52.67
22Craig Mcmorris52.50
23Danny Davis48.00
24Nick Julius43.17
25Matts Kulisek42.17
26Mark Hoyt42.00
27Spencer Shaw41.83
28Alexander Rodway33.83
29Jeremy Thompson32.83
30Ryan Hryckiewicz27.83
31Kai WigginsDNS
32Mason AguirreWD