Sprint US Snowboarding Grand Prix at Mammoth Mountain


2011 Sprint US Snowboarding Grand Prix

March 3-5, 2011

The 2011 Sprint US Snowboarding Grand Prix is the longest running domestic snowboard tour. It made it’s stop at Mammoth Mountain March 3-5, 2011 during its 15th season.

On Saturday, March 5 riders unleashed their pipe and slopestyle skills in Mammoth’s Unboud Terrain Park for the final Paul Mitchell Progression Session of the season. Many of snowboarding’s “A” listers were in attendance to compete for their share of the $200,000 prize purse! US Olympic Team members Louie Vito, Greg Bretz, Kelly Clark and Gretchen Bleiler were among a few.

Local favorite Chaz Guldemond (Reno, NV) and Jamie Anderson (South Lake Tahoe, CA) put together incredible slopestyle runs to win the Paul Mitchell Progression Session, while Matt Ladley (Steamboat Springs, CO) and Kelly Clark (Mt. Snow, VT) took home win’s in pipe.

In the men’s competition, Spencer Shaw (Stratton Mountain, VT) led until Chaz Guldemond (Reno, NV) swooped in for the win during the last run of the competition. Jamie Anderson (South Lake Tahoe, CA) led the women’s competition out of the gate, throwing a back 3 that set her apart from the group of women competitors. Her second run was a victory lap, putting together another backside 3 and some huge airs.

Matthew Ladley blasting his first hit in the pipe. PHOTO: Peter Morning
Matthew Ladley blasting his first hit in the pipe. PHOTO: Peter Morning

2011 Sprint U.S. Snowboarding Grand Prix
Mammoth Mountain, CA – Mar. 5, 2011


1. Chaz Guldemond, Reno, NV, 28.00
2. Spencer Shaw, Stratton Mountain, VT, 26.10
3. Brett Esser, Silverthorne, CO, 24.40
4. Ryan Hryckiewicz, Morgan, VT, 23.50
5. Christopher Tierney, Bondville, VT, 22.10
6. Wylie Adams, Carbondale, CO, 21.00
7. Ryan Stassel, Anchorage, 24.40
8. Caden Michnal, Kalispell, MT, 19.70
9. Ian Hart, Lexington, MA, 19.50
10. Ben Ferguson, Bend, OR, 19.40
11. Colin Spencer, Lakewood, CO, 18.40
12. Seth Hill, Breckenridge, CO, 18.00
13. Jd Dennis, Bend, OR, 17.00
14. Nicholas Sibayan, Wrightwood, CA, 14.30
15. Nick Julius, Sterling, MA, 13.30
16. Benji Farrow, Mt Holly, VT, 11.90

1. Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, CA, 28.00
2. Danielle Adams, Evergreen, CO, 17.20
3. Jamie Madrid, Fontana, CA, 15.70
4.  Elin Tortorice, Franconia, NH, 14.60
5. Nirvana Ortanez, La Jolla, CA, 13.80
6. Caty O’Connor, Auburn, CA, 12.40
7. Ty Walker, Stowe, VT, 8.90

Check out Page 2 for PIPE results and photos!