Snowboarding Wins Big at Red Bull illume 2013

Here’s the full top 50 gallery

2013 Red Bull Illume winners unveiled!

The wait is finally over. The 2013 Red Bull Illume Overall Winner, Top 10 category winners and Top 50 finalists were unveiled at a spectacular ceremony held in Hong Kong on August 29th. German photographer Lorenz Holder was crowned Overall Winner for his remarkable shot of a snowboarder next to a giant satellite dish. As Overall Winner, Holder received a Leica S camera, a broncolor Move Outdoor kit and Sun-Sniper gear — a prize worth over €30,000 in total. He also won the Experimental category.

Other category winners included Scott Serfas (Illumination), Daniel Vojtěch (New Creativity), Romina Amato (Energy), Chris Burkard (Spirit), Morgan Maassen (Lifestyle by Leica), Jeroen Nieuwhuis (Close Up), Zakary Noyle (Sequence) and Samo Vidic (Wings). All category winners walked away with a Leica X2, a broncolor Para 88 P Kit and an assortment of Sun-Sniper gear. The Athletes’ choice, as voted by Red Bull athletes, went to Morgan Maassen for his underwater shot of surfers chatting in-between sets of waves.

The Winner Award Ceremony was a true celebration of action and adventure sports photography with hundreds of leading photographers and editors attending. Highlights from the evening included performances by BMX flatland athletes Viki Gomez and Matthias Dandois and an illuminated dragon dance.

Afterwards the 50 images were unveiled on 2m x 2m life-size lightboxes along Hong Kong’s famous Avenue of Stars, where they will remain for the next three weeks as a free public exhibtion. Appropriately for a city known for its awesome noctunal lights, the illuminated exhibition will open at night time only, from 8pm to 11pm from August 30th to September 15th. Red Bull Illume will then go to the US before traveling around the world’s capitals and cultural hubs for the next two years as a unique night-time exhibition.

illume overall winner. Xaver Hoffmann, Photo by Lorenz Holder

The Top 50 Red Bull Illume Winners:

Overall Winner: Lorenz Holder (GER), Playground (above)

Athletes’ Choice: Morgan Maassen (USA), Lifestyle by Leica

Category winners are in bold below.



(AUS) Stuart Gibson

(IRE) George Karbus

(NED) Jeroen Nieuwhuis

(SUI) Claudio Casanova

(USA) Morgan Maassen



(ARG) Juan Cruz Rabaglia

(CAN) Jussi Grznar

(CZE) Daniel Vojtěch

(EST) Jaanus Ree

(GER) Lorenz Holder



(CAN) Sterling Lorence

(FIN) Rami Hanafi

(SUI) Romina Amato

(SUI) David Carlier

(USA) Christian Pondella



(CAN) Jussi Grznar

(ESP) Ismael Ibañez Ruiz

(USA) Morgan Maassen

(USA) Theodore Van Orman

(USA) Jimmy Wilson



(CAN) Scott Serfas

(CAN) Jody MacDonald

(SUI) Nicolas Jutzi

(USA) Clark Fyans

(USA) Ryan Taylor



(AUS) Stuart Gibson

(IRE) George Karbus

(POL) Rafal Meszka

(USA) Dave Lehl

(USA) Chris Burkard



(AUS) Martin Lugger

(CAN) Paul Bride

(GER) Lorenz Holder

(ITA) Olaf Pignataro

(USA) Scott Dickerson



(AUT) Rainer Eder

(CAN) Ray Demski

(GER) Florian Breitenberger

(GER) Lorenz Holder

(SWE) Elias Kunosson



(CAN) Scott Serfas

(FRA) Vince Perraud

(GBR) Dan Carr

(USA) Blotto Gray

(USA) Zakary Noyle



(AUS) Krystle Wright

(GRE) Dimitrios Kontizas

(SLO) Samo Vidic

(USA) Lucas Gilman

(USA) Benjamin Ginsberg

Check out more Snowboarding Photos Here