Actor/Comedian Jay Mohr will host the second annual ESPN Action Sports andMusic Awards Fueled by Mountain Dew Saturday, April 13 at the UniversalAmphitheatre in Los Angeles. The one-of-a-kind event, which fuses the topaction sports athletes and cutting-edge musical artists, will be televisedon ESPN Tuesday, April 16 at 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT). Mohr’s repertoire ofperformances in Hollywood television and films, stand-up comedy and radioshows, continues to grow; he will host Mohr Sports – a new sports show onESPN – beginning April 2.

Mohr is best known for his tenure on Saturday Night Live and his rolealongside Tom Cruise in Jerry Maguire. He has appeared in a number oftelevision and theatrical projects, including starring with Jennifer Anistonin Picture Perfect, and with Kevin Spacey and Helen Hunt in Pay it Forward.A New Jersey native and a die-hard sports fan, Mohr frequently appears onnational television talk shows and in his own stand-up comedy act.

“Jay Mohr’s creative talent, energy and passion for comedy, sports and areideal to host the Action Sports and Music Awards,” said Ron Semiao, ESPNvice president, programming and managing director, Global X Games. “He willjoin Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jay-Z, Vince Vaughn, Tony Hawk and a slew ofother top names from Hollywood, music and sports to make this a dynamicevening for fans and viewers.”

The ESPN Action Sports and Music Awards Fueled by Mountain Dew celebrate theachievements of the world’s best action sports athletes and the strongconnection between action sports and music. Awards will be presented in 17categories, highlighted by the athlete of the year from BMX, Skateboarding,Motocross, Surfing, Skiing and Snowboarding. The event will alsoacknowledge musical artist awards for each of the sport categories, whileother special awards, such as the Action Sports Achievement Award, will bepresented during the show.

Musical artists scheduled to perform will include the event’s 2002 ActionSports Artist Contribution Award recipients, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jay-Zwith an all-star band, X-Ecutioners featuring Xzibit, Unwritten Law and 3rdStrike. Tickets for the event are now available for purchase online atticketmaster.com.

Mohr’s new ESPN project – Mohr Sports – will feature comedy, music andinterviews with athletes and entertainment personalities commenting onsports, games and issues of the week. Mohr Sports will debut at a specialtime – Tuesday, April 2 at 10 pm ET (7 p.m. PT) – before assuming a lateMonday time slot a week later, Tuesday, April 9 at 12:30 a.m. ET (Monday,9:30 p.m. PT).