uso2016_petercirilli_9022
uso2016_petercirilli_0120
uso2016_petercirilli_9028
uso2016_petercirilli_9092
uso2016_petercirilli_9337

34th Annual Burton US Open 2016 Course Preview : First Look

Burton US Open 2016 Course Preview

The 34th Annual Burton US Open will descend on Vail, Colorado on February 29th-March 5th as the last major slopestyle and pipe contest of the 2016 season and the final stop of the World Snow Tour. The courses have been meticulously crafted and are in pristine condition for world’s best to slay on their quest for US Open gold and a chunk of the $343,000 prize purse.

USO2016_PeterCirilli_9028

This year, the slopestyle course boasts one of the most progressive and creative designs ever concocted for the legendary event. It includes a boatload of features and even has a mini-pipe smack dab in the middle for riders to get crafty on. Jamie Anderson, Spencer O’Brien, along with veterans, Cheryl Maas and Kjersti Buaas, and young guns including our TransWorld SNOWboarding Rookie of the Year, Hailey Langland, are primed and ready to lay it all on the line in the slopestyle.

On the men’s side of slope, Mark McMorris, who claimed second at last year’s event and always has a strong showing at the Open, will be missed at this year’s event as he heals from surgery on his broken femur, an injury he sustained last month at Air + Style LA. With McMo out, the rest of the stacked field including; defending champ, Yuki Kadono, Max Parrot, and Sven Thorgren will all vie for the top spot. Who will master of the creative course, and reign supreme? Only time will tell. 

USO2016_PeterCirilli_9337
The superpipe is primed and ready to be slayed. Photo: Peter Cirilli

In pipe, Shaun White is set to make an appearance, which will be his first time competing since taking first at the Dew Tour last December. If Ayumu Hirano and Iouri Podladtchikov ride as well as they have been in the past few events, and Danny Davis and Ben Ferguson land the runs they’ve been working on, it surely will be an intense battle to the top.

For the ladies, Chloe Kim is coming into the event hot off her win at X Games Oslo, where she stomped a massive run that included near-flawless back to back 1080s. Kim has been on fire all season, winning every event she’s entered. Her biggest contender is Kelly Clark, who’ll undoubtedly be out in full force as she’s yet to win an event all season. This is an unlikely position for Clark, who is the winningest pipe rider of all time, and seeks to taste gold at least once this season.

Watch a full preview of the Burton US Open here!

2016 Burton US Open Competition Schedule and Live Stream via RedBull: 

Wed, 2 March: – Slopestyle Semi-Finals
Men’s 12:30 pm Vail | 8:30 pm Paris | 4:30 am Tokyo

Thu, 3 March: Halfpipe Semi-Finals — Postponed until Friday
Women’s 10 am Vail | 6 pm Paris | 2 am Tokyo
Men’s 12:30 pm Vail | 8:30 pm Paris | 4:30 am Tokyo

Fri, 4 March: Slopestyle Finals
Women’s 9:30-11:20 am Vail | 7:20 pm Paris | 3:20 am Tokyo — New Time/Date
Men’s 12:30-4 pm Vail | 10 pm Paris | 6 am Tokyo

Sat, 5 March: Halfpipe Finals
Women’s 11:20 am Vail | 7:20 pm Paris | 3:20 am Tokyo
Men’s 2 pm Vail | 10 pm Paris | 6 am Tokyo

TWSNOW will be onsite in Vail, bringing you all the action from the Burton US Open. Keep it locked to our Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and add us on Snapchat for behind the scenes antics. 

All things Burton US Open 2016.